top of page

An Autumn Story


Yesterday I bumped into a pretty coat. I was looking for the perfect winter coat and there it was, perfect style, perfect length, perfect colour.

There is only one problem: it was an autumn jacket, while what I need was a winter jacket with wool paddings and all features for warmth guarantee.

I liked it a lot I asked a few people around if it is possible to insert a padding, a layer of wool, anything that could make the autumn jacket winter-ready. And all of them said it would not be possible. But I liked the coat so much, I almost bought it just out of impulsiveness. The reason I did not was because I just spent 80 pounds on a sterling silver bangle I have had my eyes on since ages.

Sometimes love is like buying an autumn jacket when all you need is a winterproof one. A guy comes along, he seems perfect - but there is a certain fundamental thing - it can be anything - a very basic habit, a certain trait, an sensitivity to spot and fulfill what you need - that is the reason you are searching for love itself and is the only certain thing that is missing from the guy. And you try to compromise, you try to make things work - but it can be as hard as trying to insert a wool padding into an autumn jacket.

What will happen if you buy it anyways? Well there are two possible outcomes I can think of - the first one is you not using it at all in the end because it is simply too cold to put on an autumn jacket for winter. You would buy another jacket - this one by neglecting the conditions you had before -just so that you can survive the freeze. The second one is you trying your best to survive the chilling wind and snow in your autumn jacket - possibly falling sick by the end of winter, if you're lucky, that is. Both comes with the same consequence: you suffer, and the coat proves to be nonfunctional in the end.

Love is supposed to be like the perfect winter jacket - it will come in the perfect time. Often when you are not looking for it. You went to this random shop with your friends, bored, wanting to go home and sit on the couch and just be warm, and suddenly there's this perfect winter jacket in a small corner where no one notices. It happens. Love, I believe, also happens that way. And although some may not be as magical, you will eventually find something that will work for you - something that fulfills its main duty to keep you warm - and you will love it anyways, with time.

Never buy an autumn jacket for winter. Never say yes to something you know will not work.

bottom of page